Sneak a Peek Saturday is a feature that I like to indulge in because I cannot wait to read the tasty tid bits that are put out there for us ravenous readers to enjoy.  

Now that contemporary fiction has seized my heart I am on a quest to find that "ahhh, yes!" read. THE TRAGEDY PAPER by Elizabeth Laban is just that book. Forbidden love and tragedy amongst a backdrop of a private school. It all seems too perfect to be true and now you can read the first 35 pages and see what all the hype is about. I promise you will not want it to end.

01/08/13
THE TRAGEDY PAPER
by Elizabeth Laban
ISBN-13: 978-0375870408
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320
Amazon, B&NGoodreads
CLICK ON THE IMAGE ABOVE FOR A SNEAK PEEK

Perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Looking for Alaska, The Tragedy Paper has been called “a beguiling and beautifully written tale of first love and heartbreak,” by #1 New York Times bestselling author Jennifer Weiner.

It follows the story of Tim Macbeth, a seventeen-year-old albino and a recent transfer to the prestigious Irving School, where the motto is “Enter here to be and find a friend.” A friend is the last thing Tim expects or wants—he just hopes to get through his senior year unnoticed. Yet, despite his efforts to blend into the background, he finds himself falling for the quintessential “It” girl, Vanessa Sheller, girlfriend of Irving’s most popular boy. To Tim's surprise, Vanessa is into him, too, but she can kiss her social status goodbye if anyone ever finds out. Tim and Vanessa begin a clandestine romance, but looming over them is the Tragedy Paper, Irving’s version of a senior year thesis, assigned by the school’s least forgiving teacher.

Jumping between viewpoints of the love-struck Tim and Duncan, a current senior about to uncover the truth of Tim and Vanessa, The Tragedy Paper is a compelling tale of forbidden love and the lengths people will go to keep their secrets.

2 comments on "Sneak a Peek Saturday: THE TRAGEDY PAPER BY ELIZABETH LABAN"

Dianna (Stories After Twelve) wrote: December 1, 2012 at 11:01 AM

I was given the ARC of this book and at first I wasn't too sure whether or not to start reading it right away, but after this post, I think I'll pick this up asap! :D


Elizabeth LaBan wrote: December 6, 2012 at 4:42 PM

Wow - thank you so much for featuring my book - and for saying such nice things about it.


Post a Comment

I would love to see what you have to say :)

“Reading is everything. Reading makes me feel like I've accomplished something, learned something, become a better person. Reading makes me smarter. Reading gives me something to talk about later on. Reading is the unbelievably healthy way my attention deficit disorder medicates itself. Reading is escape, and the opposite of escape; it's a way to make contact with reality after a day of making things up, and it's a way of making contact with someone else's imagination after a day that's all too real. Reading is grist. Reading is bliss.”

Nora Ephron, I Feel Bad About My Neck: And Other Thoughts on Being a Woman

Tales of a Ravenous Reader

My Photo
Hello, and thank you for stopping by. This is my little haven for talking about the books that I adore.

Grab My Button

Email Twitter RSS Feed

Contact Me

I am an avid reader from Northern California and if you are a publisher and would like to have your YOUNG or NEW ADULT book reviewed, please email me. I accept ARCs, as well as books that have already been released. I am also more than happy to do author interviews, guest posts, and contests to promote your book as long as they are in the Young and New Adult genre. Please check my review policy prior to sending me an email, thank you. curlyshoe(at)gmail(dot)com

2016 Reading Challenge

2016 Reading Challenge
nancy has read 29 books toward her goal of 125 books.
hide

@ravenousreader on INSTAGRAM

Upcoming YA Bay Area Book Events

I have compiled all the SF, bay area YA events in this section. If you know of any events that I have failed to post, please let me know. Also, please keep in mind that some events may change and it is always best to verify any event prior to attendance.


APRIL

STACEY LEE
Teen Writers Group
at Linden Tree Books in Los Altos
Sunday, April 24 @2pm

RENEE AHDIEH with SABAA TAHIR
Towne Center Books in Pleasanton
Thursday, April 28 @ 7pm

MAY

SARAH MLYNOWSKI
Hicklebee's in San Jose
Sunday, May 1 @ 12:00pm(noon)

SARAH MLYNOWSKI

Copperfield's in Petaluma
Sunday, May 1 @ 3pm

SARAH MLYNOWSKI

Pleasanton Library
Monday, May 2 @ 5pm

AMIE KAUFMAN and JAY KRISTOFF
Redwood City Library RSVP HERE
Tuesday, May 3 @ 7pm

MORGAN MATSON with SIOBHAN VIVIAN AND SUSANNE YOUNG
Barnes and Noble in El Cerrito
Tuesday, May 3 @ 7pm

LAUREN MYRACLE

Copperfield's in Petaluma
Wednesday, May 4 @ 4pm

SARAH J. MAAS in conversation with EVELYN SKYE

This is a ticketed event
Kepler's in Menlo Park
Wednesday, May 4 @ 7pm

AMIE KAUFMAN and JAY KRISTOFF with MICHAEL GRANT
Linden Tree Books in Los Altos
Wednesday, May 4 @ 6pm

JULIE BAXBAUM, NICOLA YOON, LAURA MCNEAL and JEFF ZENTNER
A Great Good Place for Books
Wednesday, May 4 @ 7pm

AMIE KAUFMAN and JAY KRISTOFF
Barnes & Noble in El Cerrito
Thursday, May 5 @ 7pm

JULIE BAXBAUM, NICOLA YOON, LAURA MCNEAL AND JEFF ZENTNER
Books Inc. in San Francisco
Thursday, May 5 @ 7pm

JULIE BAXBAUM, NICOLA YOON, LAURA MCNEAL AND JEFF ZENTNER
Hicklebee's in San Jose
Friday, May 6 @ 7pm

LEOPOLDO GOUT
Copperfields in Petaluma
Friday, May 6 @ 4pm

JESSICA TAYLOR Release Party
Barnes and Noble in Roseville
Saturday, May 7 @ 2pm

WENDY SPINALE Book Launch

Towne Center Books in Pleasanton
Monday, May 9 @ 6pm

EVELYN SKYE in conversation with SABAA TAHIR
Kepler's in Menlo Park
Tuesday, May 17 @ 7pm


WENDY SPINALE
Hickelbee's in San Jose
Friday, May 20 @7pm

LILY ANDERSON
Great Good Place for Books
Saturday, May 21 @ 7pm

STACEY LEE Launch Party
Books Inc. in Palo Alto
Thursday, May 26 @ 7pm


JUNE

BAY AREA BOOK FESTIVAL
June 4&5 in downtown Berkeley
Julie Buxbaum
Gail Carriger
Veronica Rossi
Daniel Handler
Stephanie Keuhn
Stacey Lee
Caroline Paul
Wendy MacNaughton
Lauren Myracle
Alyson Noel
Yvonne Prinz
Jason Reynolds
Evelyn Skye
Wendy Spinale
V.E. Schwab
Nicola Yoon

BRODI ASHTON, CYNTHIA HAND, and JODI MEADOWS (My Lady Jane)
Kepler's in Menlo Park
Wednesday, June 8 @ 7pm

JENNIFER LYNN BARNES, TIFFANY SCHMIDT and TARA ALTEBRANDO
Kepler's in Menlo Park
Thursday, June 9 @ 7pm RSVP Here

STACEY LEE

Barnes and Noble in El Cerrito
Friday, June 10 @ 7pm

WENDY SPINALE
Linden Tree Books in Los Altos
Friday, June 10 @ 6pm

WENDY SPINALE
Book Passage in Corte Madera
Friday, June 17 @ 6pm


...and lots more events are coming. I am so excited but cannot share them yet :) Stay Tuned!!

What I am Reading Now

and this too.....

Book Tour Host

Book Tour Host

Book Tour Host

Follow by Email

Followers

Rating System

♥♥♥♥♥ Love it! A must read

♥♥♥♥ Great, give it a try

♥♥♥ Okay, a decent read

♥♥ Meh, read at your own risk

Would not recommend

DNF=Did Not Finish

Blog Archive

Blog Stats

Blog Designer