Sneak a Peek Saturday is a feature that I like to indulge in because I cannot wait to read the tasty tid bits that are put out there for us ravenous readers to enjoy.  

Now that contemporary fiction has seized my heart I am on a quest to find that "ahhh, yes!" read. THE TRAGEDY PAPER by Elizabeth Laban is just that book. Forbidden love and tragedy amongst a backdrop of a private school. It all seems too perfect to be true and now you can read the first 35 pages and see what all the hype is about. I promise you will not want it to end.

01/08/13
THE TRAGEDY PAPER
by Elizabeth Laban
ISBN-13: 978-0375870408
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320
Amazon, B&NGoodreads
CLICK ON THE IMAGE ABOVE FOR A SNEAK PEEK

Perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Looking for Alaska, The Tragedy Paper has been called “a beguiling and beautifully written tale of first love and heartbreak,” by #1 New York Times bestselling author Jennifer Weiner.

It follows the story of Tim Macbeth, a seventeen-year-old albino and a recent transfer to the prestigious Irving School, where the motto is “Enter here to be and find a friend.” A friend is the last thing Tim expects or wants—he just hopes to get through his senior year unnoticed. Yet, despite his efforts to blend into the background, he finds himself falling for the quintessential “It” girl, Vanessa Sheller, girlfriend of Irving’s most popular boy. To Tim's surprise, Vanessa is into him, too, but she can kiss her social status goodbye if anyone ever finds out. Tim and Vanessa begin a clandestine romance, but looming over them is the Tragedy Paper, Irving’s version of a senior year thesis, assigned by the school’s least forgiving teacher.

Jumping between viewpoints of the love-struck Tim and Duncan, a current senior about to uncover the truth of Tim and Vanessa, The Tragedy Paper is a compelling tale of forbidden love and the lengths people will go to keep their secrets.

2 comments on "Sneak a Peek Saturday: THE TRAGEDY PAPER BY ELIZABETH LABAN"

Dianna (Stories After Twelve) wrote: December 1, 2012 at 11:01 AM

I was given the ARC of this book and at first I wasn't too sure whether or not to start reading it right away, but after this post, I think I'll pick this up asap! :D


Elizabeth LaBan wrote: December 6, 2012 at 4:42 PM

Wow - thank you so much for featuring my book - and for saying such nice things about it.


Post a Comment

I would love to see what you have to say :)

“Reading is everything. Reading makes me feel like I've accomplished something, learned something, become a better person. Reading makes me smarter. Reading gives me something to talk about later on. Reading is the unbelievably healthy way my attention deficit disorder medicates itself. Reading is escape, and the opposite of escape; it's a way to make contact with reality after a day of making things up, and it's a way of making contact with someone else's imagination after a day that's all too real. Reading is grist. Reading is bliss.”

Nora Ephron, I Feel Bad About My Neck: And Other Thoughts on Being a Woman

Tales of a Ravenous Reader

My Photo
Hello, and thank you for stopping by. This is my little haven for talking about the books that I adore.

Grab My Button

Email Twitter RSS Feed

Contact Me

I am an avid reader from Northern California and if you are a publisher and would like to have your YOUNG or NEW ADULT book reviewed, please email me. I accept ARCs, as well as books that have already been released. I am also more than happy to do author interviews, guest posts, and contests to promote your book as long as they are in the Young and New Adult genre. Please check my review policy prior to sending me an email, thank you. curlyshoe(at)gmail(dot)com

2015 Reading Challenge

2015 Reading Challenge
nancy has read 1 book toward her goal of 150 books.
hide

@ravenousreader on INSTAGRAM

Upcoming YA Bay Area Book Events

I have compiled all the SF, bay area YA and NA events in this section. If you know of any events that I have failed to post, please let me know. Also, please keep in mind that some events may change and it is best to verify all events prior to attendance.

2015

JUNE

MARY PEARSON
Kepler's in Menlo Park
Friday, June 12 @ 7pm

MICHELLE TEA
Book Passage in Corte Madera
Friday, June 12 @ 6:30pm

Trio of YA Fantasy authors:
K.D. Blakely, R.A. Gates and Cheryl Mahoney
Saturday, June 13 from 1-3pm

STEPHANIE KUEHN
Mrs. Dalloway's in Berkeley
Saturday, June 13 @ 7:30pm

GGP: TAMARA IRELAND STONE
Lafayette Library in Lafayette
Sunday, June 14 from 4-6pm

ADAM SILVERA and JANDY NELSON
Green Apple Books (Clement street location) in SF
Thursday, June 25 @ 7pm

NYMBC: WE NEED DIVERSE BOOKS
RAZIEL REID, I.W. GREGORIO, SONA CHARAIPOTRA AND DHONIELLE CLAYTON

Books Inc. in the Castro
Thursday, June 25 @ 7pm

NYMBC CLASS OF 2K15:
COURTNEY ALAMEDA, I.W. GREGORIO,VALYNNE MAETANI, ALEXIS BASS, SONIA CHARAIPOTRA & DHONIELLE CLAYTON, HOLLY BODGER, STACEY LEE, VIRGINIA BOECKER, RENEE AHDIEH AND FONDA LEE

Books Inc. in Burlingame
Saturday, June 27 @ 3pm

Five Fantasic YA authors:
MEGAN WHALEN TURNER, ELIZABETH FAMA, STEPHANIE KUEHN, REBECCA HAHN and TAMARA IRELAND STONE

Kepler's in Menlo Park
Monday, June 29 @ 7pm

NYMBC YA THRILLS & CHILLS:
KATIE COYLE, NOVA REN SUMA and LAUREN SAFT

Books Inc. in Palo alto
Monday, June 29 @ 7pm

JULY

NYMBC: TOMMY WALLACH
Books Inc. in San Francisco
Wednesday, July 1 @ 7pm

NYMBC: BOOK LAUNCH PARTY
MARY E. PEARSON

Books Inc. in Burlingame @ 7pm
Tuesday, July 1 @ 7pm

NYMBC:ALL THE FEELS
ROBIN BENWAY, TAMARA IRELAND STONE and GRETCHEN MCNEIL

Books Inc. in San Francisco
Tuesday, July 14 @ 7pm

AUGUST

SAN FRAN GOLDEN GATE AUTHOR EVENT
Holiday Inn Golden Gateway San Francisco
Saturday, August 8 11:30-4pm

Purchase Tickets HERE

...and lots more events are coming. I am so excited but cannot share them yet :) Stay Tuned!!

What I am Reading Now

and this too.....

Book Tour Host

Book Tour Host

Book Tour Host

Follow by Email

Followers

Rating System

♥♥♥♥♥ Love it! A must read

♥♥♥♥ Great, give it a try

♥♥♥ Okay, a decent read

♥♥ Meh, read at your own risk

Would not recommend

DNF=Did Not Finish

Blog Archive

Blog Stats

Blog Designer