Sneak a Peek Saturday is a feature that I like to indulge in because I cannot wait to read the tasty tid bits that are put out there for us ravenous readers to enjoy.  

Now that contemporary fiction has seized my heart I am on a quest to find that "ahhh, yes!" read. THE TRAGEDY PAPER by Elizabeth Laban is just that book. Forbidden love and tragedy amongst a backdrop of a private school. It all seems too perfect to be true and now you can read the first 35 pages and see what all the hype is about. I promise you will not want it to end.

01/08/13
THE TRAGEDY PAPER
by Elizabeth Laban
ISBN-13: 978-0375870408
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Pages: 320
Amazon, B&NGoodreads
CLICK ON THE IMAGE ABOVE FOR A SNEAK PEEK

Perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and Looking for Alaska, The Tragedy Paper has been called “a beguiling and beautifully written tale of first love and heartbreak,” by #1 New York Times bestselling author Jennifer Weiner.

It follows the story of Tim Macbeth, a seventeen-year-old albino and a recent transfer to the prestigious Irving School, where the motto is “Enter here to be and find a friend.” A friend is the last thing Tim expects or wants—he just hopes to get through his senior year unnoticed. Yet, despite his efforts to blend into the background, he finds himself falling for the quintessential “It” girl, Vanessa Sheller, girlfriend of Irving’s most popular boy. To Tim's surprise, Vanessa is into him, too, but she can kiss her social status goodbye if anyone ever finds out. Tim and Vanessa begin a clandestine romance, but looming over them is the Tragedy Paper, Irving’s version of a senior year thesis, assigned by the school’s least forgiving teacher.

Jumping between viewpoints of the love-struck Tim and Duncan, a current senior about to uncover the truth of Tim and Vanessa, The Tragedy Paper is a compelling tale of forbidden love and the lengths people will go to keep their secrets.

2 comments on "Sneak a Peek Saturday: THE TRAGEDY PAPER BY ELIZABETH LABAN"

Dianna (Stories After Twelve) wrote: December 1, 2012 at 11:01 AM

I was given the ARC of this book and at first I wasn't too sure whether or not to start reading it right away, but after this post, I think I'll pick this up asap! :D


Elizabeth LaBan wrote: December 6, 2012 at 4:42 PM

Wow - thank you so much for featuring my book - and for saying such nice things about it.


Post a Comment

I would love to see what you have to say :)

“Reading is everything. Reading makes me feel like I've accomplished something, learned something, become a better person. Reading makes me smarter. Reading gives me something to talk about later on. Reading is the unbelievably healthy way my attention deficit disorder medicates itself. Reading is escape, and the opposite of escape; it's a way to make contact with reality after a day of making things up, and it's a way of making contact with someone else's imagination after a day that's all too real. Reading is grist. Reading is bliss.”

Nora Ephron, I Feel Bad About My Neck: And Other Thoughts on Being a Woman

Tales of a Ravenous Reader

My Photo
Hello, and thank you for stopping by. This is my little haven for talking about the YA books that I adore.

Grab My Button

Email Twitter RSS Feed

Contact Me

I am an avid reader from Northern California and if you are a publisher and would like to have your YOUNG or NEW ADULT book reviewed, please email me. I accept ARCs, as well as books that have already been released. I am also more than happy to do author interviews, guest posts, and contests to promote your book as long as they are in the Young and New Adult genre. Please check my review policy prior to sending me an email, thank you. curlyshoe(at)gmail(dot)com

2014 Reading Challenge

2014 Reading Challenge
nancy has read 0 books toward her goal of 125 books.
hide

Upcoming YA Bay Area Book Events

I have compiled all the SF, bay area YA and NA events in this section. If you know of any events that I have failed to post, please let me know. Also, please keep in mind that some events may change and it is best to verify all events prior to attendance.

2014

OCTOBER

SCOTT WESTERFELD
Hicklebee's in San Jose
Tuesday, October 21 @ 7pm

SCOTT WESTERFELD
This is a TICKETED event purchase tickets HERE
Books Inc. Opera Plaza in SF
Wednesday, October 22 @7pm

GARTH NIX and MICHAEL GRANT
Kepler's in Menlo Park
Thursday, October 23 @ 7pm

P.C. and KRISTIN CAST
Barnes and Noble in Emeryville
Friday, October 24 @ 7pm

JANDY NELSON
Book Passage in Corte Madera
Friday, October 24 @ 6:30pm

KENDARE BLAKE
Linden Tree Books in Los Altos
Saturday, October 25 @ 4-5:30pm
(it is appreciated if you RSVP in advance so they can provide seats and plan for aromatherapy supplies!)

SARA RAASCH, KASIE WEST AND CORRINE JACKSON
Kepler's in Menlo Park
Monday, October 27 @ 7pm

WENDELIN VAN DRAANEN & MARK HUNTLEY PARSONS "He Said, She Said" Author Tour
Hicklebee's in San Jose
Friday, November 7 @ 7pm

KAT BEYER *Demon Catchers of Milan*
Book Passage in Corte Madera
Saturday, November 29 @ 3pm

FRANK PORTMAN
Book Passage in San Francisco
Monday, December 15 @ 6pm

STACEY JAY
Hicklebee's in San Jose
Friday, January 2 @ 7pm

What I am Reading Now

and this too.....

Book Tour Host

Book Tour Host

Book Tour Host

Follow by Email

Followers

Rating System

♥♥♥♥♥ Love it! A must read

♥♥♥♥ Great, give it a try

♥♥♥ Okay, a decent read

♥♥ Meh, read at your own risk

Would not recommend

DNF=Did Not Finish

Blog Archive

Blog Stats

Blog Designer